Event Description

Christmas closure dates

Christmas closure dates

3pm - 9am, Tuesday 28 November 2017 | Southend


Christmas closure 2017/18

The University will close at 12.30pm on Friday 22 December 2017 for the Christmas holiday period and will re-open on Tuesday 2 January 2018.

SU Office

The office will close at 3pm on Friday 22nd December and will re-open at 9am on Tuesday 2nd January.

Please note the office will be closed all day Tuesday 19th December.

SU Advice

The SU Advice centre Southend will close at 4pm on Thursday 14th December and will re-open at 10am on Tuesday 16th January.

SU Advice Colchester opening hours are:

Monday 18th Dec – 1pm to 4pm

Wednesday 20th Dec – 1pm to 4pm

Thursday 21st Dec– 1pm to 4pm

Tuesday 2nd Jan – 5th Jan – 1pm to 4pm

Monday 8th Jan – 12th Jan – 1pm to 4pm

Southend students are welcome to email on suacsou@essex.ac.uk for advice during these times.

SU Lounge

The Lounge will close at 7pm on Friday 15th December and re-open on the 8th January.

The Gateway Building

Although the autumn term ends on Friday 15 December, the building will be staffed as normal up to 12.30pm on Friday 22 December.

On Christmas Day (25 December), Boxing Day (26 December) and New Year’s Day (1 January) The Gateway Building will be closed.   No access to The Gateway Building will be possible.

On the 23, 24, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 December, the building will be in partial lockdown.  This means that staff, students and tenants will be able to gain access to the building, via the disabled entrance door, up to 10.00pm Mon – Sat and 6pm on Sunday, apart from Christmas Eve and New Year’s Eve when the building will close at 5pm.

Staff will return on Tuesday 2 January and The Gateway Building will be open as normal.

Please note that the ground floor reception desk will not be manned by University staff on Saturday 23 December and Saturday 30 December.

The Forum

The Christmas and New Year opening times are as follows:-

Saturday 23 Dec

8am to 6pm

Sunday 24 Dec  -   Christmas Eve

Closed

Monday 25 Dec -  Christmas Day

Closed

Tuesday 26 Dec  - Boxing Day

Closed

Wednesday 27 Dec

8am to 10pm

Thursday 28 Dec

8am to 10pm

Friday 29 Dec

8am to 10pm

Saturday 30  Dec

8am to 6pm

Sunday 31 Dec - New Year’s Eve

11am to 5pm

Monday 1 January - New Year’s Day

Closed

Tuesday 2 January onwards

8am to 10pm

 

Throughout the Christmas period students can still access the Learning Hub in The Forum building, via the North access (SMACS) door.  Security is on site 24/7 365 days a year.

Clifftown Studios

Clifftown Studios will be closed as of 22 December 2017 and re-open on 2 January 2018 as normal.

University Square

University Square is open every day, including bank holidays (there are no University accommodation staff on site from 12.30pm on 22 December, returning Tuesday 2 January 2018 – this period is manned by security staff).